Sunny Days

It’s a beautiful sunny day. The temperature is a comfortable 64 degrees. I sit in my lounge chair in front of the lake relaxed and dreaming of flowers and butterflies. Got the fishing line in the water waiting patiently for a bite. A healthy fresh grilled fish dinner is on the menu. Today I sit without a care in the world.

Uh, yeah right. I wish. Not a care in the world? Harldy. I’m swamped with care and concern. I’m overwhelmed with chores and children. I’m alone and over my head with life. A healthy dinner on the menu? I’m lucky if I cook. I crave the day when I can truly sit by the lake relaxing. I dream of the stress melting away in the sun.

Somehow I hurt my back. Yesterday, after running errands and taking my daughter to shoot her bow, I started having muscle spasms. For what reason, I have yet to figure out. I spent the evening with heat on my back. I usually hold stress in my back so maybe that is it. Who knows? Whatever. I’ll get over it. I won’t let it get me down. I’ll live to get back into the garden. I’ll live to get out fishing.

I think of Dori – “Just keep swimming.” All of life is seasonal. Ups and downs and ‘rounds and ‘rounds. I know that this too shall pass. I know that one day I’ll look around and wish that the kids were here to stress me out. One day I will sit around the flowers and catch fish with nothing to do but breathe.

Leave a Reply

